Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Salem Al-Suwaidi

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court on charges of being affiliated with a secret organization

  • April 30, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant

Salem Abdullah Rashid Sahoo Al-Suwaidi, born in 1954, is a petroleum engineer and a graduate of the United States of America in 1977. He is a former Secretary General of the Oil Council in the Government of Sharjah, and a technical official in the Sharjah Cooperative Society.

His apprehension and trial 
On April 30, 2012, the UAE security forces stormed his house, causing panic and terror to his family. They confiscated all his personal properties and arrested him without an arrest warrant. He was taken to an unknown place, where he was subjected to enforced disappearance until he appeared before court. 
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced 56 people, including Salem, to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation on charges of being affiliated with a secret illegal organization. He was brought before court as a member of the “UAE 94” group.

His trial lacked all the standards of a fair trial as it witnessed many legal violations, including not considering his statements that he was subjected to torture, which violates the International Convention against Torture to which the UAE has acceded since 2012, and the denial of his right to legal representation. Also, the investigation file was ambiguous amid the absence of material evidence against Salem regarding the charges against him.
Salem is not at Al-Razeen prison, where he serves his setnece, subjected to various violations, including being placed in soliltary confinement, the denial of visits, going out to the sun, reading books, practicing religious rituals, and ugliest of which was prevention from attending his daughter’s funeral. 
 

Violations against the detainee

  • Issuing an unappealable judgement, which violates the victim’s right to have a double-hearing judicial.

  • Violating many legal guarantees for a fair trial, such as the right of the accused to appear before a normal court, or to defend before the judiciary.

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

سالم السويدي

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 30 أبريل 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية دون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

  • 3 مارس 2011:

    التوقيع على عريضة الثالث من مارس.

سالم عبد الله راشد ساحوه السويدي مواليد عام 1954. مهندس بترول خريج الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية عام 1977، وأمين عام سابق لمجلس النفط في حكومة الشارقة، ومسؤول فني في جمعية الشارقة التعاونية. 

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
في 30 أبريل 2012، اقتحمت قوات الأمن الإماراتي منزل المهندس ساحوه محدثة حالة من الهلع والرعب لأهل البيت، تم معها نهب الممتلكات الشخصية، ثم اختطاف سالم دون مذكرة اعتقال، واقتياده إلى مكان مجهول حيث بقيَ في حالة من الإخفاء القسري حتى ظهوره في أول جلست المحاكمة.

في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبوظبي على 56 شخصاً، من بينهم ساحوه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 إضافية للمراقبة بتهمة "الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري غير مشروع" وكان قد مثل أمام المحكمة كأحد أفراد المجموعة التي باتت تُعرف بمجموعة (الإمارات 94).

تم توثيق العديد من الانتهاكات القانونية خلال المحاكمة تجعلها محاكمة غير عادلة وتفتقر إلى المعايير الحقوقية للمحاكمات، تمثّلت في عدم الاعتداد بأقوال الضحية من تعرضه للتعذيب وهو ما يخالف الاتفاقية الدولية لمناهضة التعذيب المنضمة لها دولة الإمارات منذ عام 2012 وحرمان المعتقلين من التمثيل القانوني خلال فترة التحقيق علاوة على ذلك غاب الوضوح عن ملف التحقيقات، كما غابت الأدلة المادية ضد  ساحوه في ما يخص التهم الموجهة إليه.
يقضي سالم ساحوه مدة حبسه في سجن الرزين، متعرضاً إلى انتهاكات لحقوق الإنسان من حبس انفرادي ومنع من الزيارة وحرمان من التعرّض للشمس والحصول على كتب إسلامية عدا المصحف، وكان آخر هذه الانتهاكات وأشدها خرقاً للأخلاقيات الإنسانية هو منعه من المشاركة في جنازة ابنته أو حتى الصلاة عليها.