Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Ali Al-Khaja

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court on charges of being affiliated with a secret organization

  • August 28, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant

Ali Abdullah Fateh Ali Al-Khaja, born in 1966, an Emirati businessman who was subjected to security harassment because of his social activities and his affiliation with Eslah Society. He has a BA in Information Systems Management.

His apprehension and trial 
On August 28, 2012, the UAE Security forces arrested Al-Khaja from his home. He remained subjected to enforced disappearance until he appeared before court. During detention, he was subjected to degrading treatment and various forms of torture. He was placed in solitary confinement and subjected to intimidation. He was not allowed to see visitors nor was he allowed to see his lawyer. Plus, his request to be released on bail despite his presentation of all appropriate guarantees was rejected.

On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced 56 people, including Al-Khaja, to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation accused of being affiliated  with a secret illegal organization. He was brought before the court as a member of the “UAE 94” group. 
In Al-Razeen prison, Al-Khaja is subjected to various violations, including being placed in solitary confinement and prevention from going out in the sun, practicing sports and religious rituals. Also, he was not allowed to see visitors for a long time with no reasons.
 

Violations against the detainee

  • Issuing an unappealable judgement, which violates the victim’s right to have a double-hearing judicial.

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

علي الخاجة

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 28 أغسطس 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية بدون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

على عبد الله فتح علي آل خاجة مواليد عام 1966، حاصل على البكالوريوس في إدارة نظم المعلومات، ورجل أعمال إماراتي، تعرض للمضايقة الأمنية بسبب نشاطه الاجتماعي وانتمائه لجمعية الإصلاح.

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
اعتقلت قوات الأمن علي آل خاجة من منزله في 28 أغسطس 2012 وبقي في الإخفاء القسري إلى حين مثوله أمام المحكمة. حيث تعرض فيها إلى المعاملة المهينة طيلة فترة احتجازه، فقد تم وضعه في الحبس الانفرادي وعانى من مظاهر الترهيب والإكراه المتمثلة في استمرار منعه من مقابلة محاميه أو الاتصال به وحرمانه من زيارة أهله، كما رفض طلب إخلاء سبيله بكفالة رغم تقديمه كل الضمانات المناسبة.

في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبوظبي على 56 شخصاً، من بينهم آل خاجة، بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 إضافية للمراقبة بتهمة "الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري غير مشروع" وقد مثل أمام المحكمة باعتباره أحد أفراد المجموعة المعروفة إعلامياً باسم (الإمارات 94).

وتتواصل الانتهاكات بحق آل خاجة خلال الفترة الحالية التي يقضيها في سجن الرزين والمتمثلة في استمرار الحبس الانفرادي ومنعه من الخروج للشمس وممارسة الرياضة والشعائر الدينية الجماعية كصلاة الجمعة، مع منع الزيارات عنه لمددٍ طويلة دون أسباب.