Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Muhammad Al-Abdouli

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court on charges of being affiliated with a secret organization

  • October 11, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant

Muhammad Said Muhammad Diab Al-Abdouli, born in 1967, is a judge and a former head of the criminal department in the Abu Dhabi Court of Appeal. He is a member of the Board of Directors of the Fujairah Charitable Society, Chairman of the Zakat and Charity Committee and Chairman of the Committee for Preparing the First Zakat Conference in the United Arab Emirates.
 

His apprehension and trial 
On October 11, 2012, the UAE security forces arrested the prominent judge, Muhammad Al-Abdouli from his house and remained subjected to enforced disappearance in an unknown place until he appeared before court. 
In an oral pleading, Al-Abdouli denounced his arrest, which is considered a constitutional legal crime as he enjoys judicial immunity. He considered the committed violations distort the reputation of the judiciary and confirmed that he was arrested and placed in a coffin, bound and blindfolded, and taken to an unknown place. Plus, he was not allowed to contact his family.
On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced 56 people including Al-Abdouli to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation. He was brought before court as a member of the “UAE 94” group. 
Although he had immunity and held a sophisticated position, Al-Abdouli like others was subjected to various forms of torture and inhumane treatment. The UAE authorities committed all types of degrading and intimidation; he was placed in solitary confinement and all of his personal properties were confiscated. He was not allowed to see his case file. 
Human rights defenders and Al-Abdouli colleagues denounced the arrest of their colleague and his unfair trial, considering what happened with detainees of the same case as a courtroom sideshow. It was done to distort and manipulate the public opinion regarding the reform call. 

 

Violations against the detainee

  • Issuing an unappealable judgement, which violates the victim’s right to have a double-hearing judicial.

  • The absence of any material evidence against the victim.

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

محمد العبدولي

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 11 أكتوبر 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية دون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

محمد سعيد محمد ذياب العبدولي مواليد عام 1967، قاض بارز ورئيس الدائرة الجزائية في محكمة استئناف أبوظبي سابقاً، وعضو مجلس إدارة جمعية الفجيرة الخيرية، ورئيس لجنة الزكاة والصدقات ورئيس لجنة إعداد أول مؤتمر للزكاة في دولة الإمارات.

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
اعتقلت قوات الأمن العبدولي في 11 أكتوبر 2012 من مقر سكنه، وبقي في الإخفاء القسري في مكان غير معلوم حتى ظهوره في المحكمة.

في مرافعة شفهية، استنكر العبدولي عملية اعتقاله والتي تعتبر جريمة دستورية وقانونية لكونه يتمتع بحصانة قضائية، واعتبر أن ما حدث من انتهاكات تشويه لسمعة القضاء. فقد أكد أنه تعرض للاعتقال ووضع في تابوت مكبل الرأس ومعصوب العينين ونقل إلى مكان مجهول، دون السماح له بالاتصال بأهله.

في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبوظبي على 56 شخصاً، من بينهم العبدولي بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 إضافية للمراقبة وكان قد مثل أمام المحكمة باعتباره أحد أفراد المجموعة التي باتت تُعرف بمجموعة (الإمارات 94).

تعرض العبدولي كغيره من معتقلي الرأي إلى التعذيب والمعاملة المهينة رغم مركزه والحصانة التي يتمتع بها، إلا أن السلطات مارست عليه كل أنواع الإهانة من ترهيب وسجن انفرادي مع مصادرة أغراضه الشخصية ومنعه من تسلم ملف التحقيقات في قضيته.

استنكر العديد من الحقوقيين وزملاء القاضي العبدولي اعتقاله ومحاكمته "غير العادلة" واصفين ما جرى معه ومع المعتقلين في نفس القضية بـ"المهزلة القضائية"، والتي تمت فقط "لتشويه وتوجيه الرأي العام حول الدعوة الإصلاحية".