Emirates Detainees Advocacy Center

Hamad Raqit

Defender of Human Rights

العربية
متوفر باللغة

Detainee Timeline

  • July 2, 2013

    He was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation

  • March 4, 2013

    He was brought before court on charges of being affiliated with a secret organization

  • July 25, 2012

    The UAE authorities arrested him with no legal reasons or an arrest warrant

  • March 3, 2011

    He signed the Third of March petition

Hamad Hassan Ruqit Al Ali, born in 1951, holds a BA in History of Arabic Language from Al-Azhar University in 1975. He worked as a Director of the Endowment Department at the Ministry of Justice, Islamic Affairs and Endowments, contributed in establisng the famous Reform and Social Guidance Association in the UAE. He was known as a preacher and writer as he has a collection of valuable books in al-Dawa.

His apprehenshion and trial 
On July 25, 2012, the UAE security forces arrested Raqit and kept in a secret place until he appeared before court. During detention, he was subjected to humiliating treatment as he was not allowed to contact his family or the lawyer. Also, the authorities refused to offer him a specialized medical treatment as his pyshcological heatlh worsned and fell into depression. 
 On July 2, 2013, the Federal Supreme Court in Abu Dhabi sentenced 56 people, including Raqit, to 10 years imprisonment with additional 3 years of probation on charges of being affiliated with a secret illegal group. He was brought before court as a member of the “UAE 94” group.
His trial lacked all the standards of a fair trial that are guaranteed by the international convetions, such as overlooking all confessions extracted under torture, and respecting the right of the defendants to legal representation. However, the trial lacked legality as the statements of the detainees, including Mr. Hamad, that they were subjected to torture and degrading treatment were ignored. This occurred amid the absence of any material evidence for the charges brought against them. Also, the authorities considered the detainees’ social activity as a terrorist crime before a court that cannot be challenged.
 

Violations against the detainee

  • Violating many legal guarantees for a fair trial, such as the right of the accused to appear before a normal court, or to defend before the judiciary.

مركز مناصرة معتقلي الإمارات

حمد رقيط

مدافع عن حقوق الإنسان

English
Available In

حياة المعتقل

  • 2 يوليو 2013:

    الحكم عليه بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 سنوات إضافية للمراقبة.

  • 4 مارس 2013:

    إحالته للمحاكمة بتهمة الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري.

  • 25 يوليو 2012:

    اعتقلته السلطات الإماراتية دون تهمة أو مذكرة توقيف.

  • 3 مارس 2011:

    التوقيع على عريضة الثالث من مارس.

حمد حسن رقيط آل علي، مواليد عام 1951، حاصل على بكالوريوس تاريخ في اللغة العربية من جامعة الأزهر عام 1975، وشغل منصب مدير إدارة الوقف بوزارة العدل والشؤون الإسلامية والأوقاف بالإضافة إلى دوره في تأسيس جمعية الإصلاح والتوجيه الاجتماعي المشهرة بالدولة.

عرف الأستاذ حمد رقيط داعيةً وكاتباً له مجموعة من المؤلفات القيمة في الدعوة.

اعتقاله ومحاكمته:
في 25 يوليو 2012، اعتقلت قوات من جهاز الأمن رقيط، وبقي في مكان سري قرابة عام حتى ظهوره في المحكمة. تعرض أثناء اعتقاله للمعاملة المهينة، فقد تم منعه من الاتصال بمحاميه أو أسرته طيلة فترة احتجازه، كما تم تجاهل طلباته للخضوع للعلاج بسبب تدهور حالته الصحية والنفسية وإصابته بالاكتئاب.

في 2 يوليو 2013، حكمت المحكمة الاتحادية العليا في أبوظبي على 56 شخصاً، من بينهم حمد رقيط، بالسجن 10 سنوات مع 3 إضافية للمراقبة بتهمة "الانتماء إلى تنظيم سري غير شرعي"، وقد مثل أمام المحكمة باعتباره أحد أفراد المجموعة التي باتت تُعرف بمجموعة (الإمارات 94).
 
كانت محاكمة رقيط تفتقر لكل معايير المحاكمات العادلة التي تنص عليها الاتفاقيات الدولية، أبرزها ضرورة استبعاد كل الاعترافات المنتزعة تحت التعذيب أو المعاملة المهينة واللاإنسانية، واحترام حق المتهمين في الاستشارة القانونية، ولكن مجريات المحاكمة في معظم جلساتها خلت من الطابع القانوني حيث تم رفض طلبات المعتقلين ومنهم حمد رقيط للتحقيق في ما تعرضوا له من تعذيب ومعاملة حاطة بالكرامة، كما غابت أي أدلة مادية للتهم الموجهة ضدهم واعتبار النشاط الاجتماعي جريمة إرهابية أمام محكمة غير قابلة للاستئناف.